Factory Or Master Reset: What Does It Mean And How To Perform It On Mac?

Have you ever wondered what does it mean to erase your device to manufacturer settings? If the answer is yes, you have come to the right place! In this post, we are going to clarify this matter and give you clear guidelines on how to reset Mac to factory settings. Let’s dive in!

Factory reset mac

Definition

If you are not keen on technology and have no idea what factory reset is, we are going to give you a short explanation. In simple words, this term defines a process of returning a device to its original state. The initial state of the system is a condition in which a device has left a factory. Such a reset removes all settings applied by a user and erases all content stored on the device. It can be applied to pretty much any item, including a laptop, smartphone, tablet, etc.

When Might You Need To Reset Your Mac?

Returning your laptop to its original settings set by the manufacturer can be an effective fix for a whole range of issues. For example, when the device is running slow, acting up or working improperly, erasing it completely can do you a big favor and restore its functionality. That is why if any breakage occurs, experts recommend trying a full reset before taking your device to a service point, as in most cases it really works!

However, that’s not the only use of factory reset. Today, people are used to selling their devices before buying a new one. There are lots of selling platforms like eBay that allow regular users to get rid of their old tech, and that is one more case when a full reset can come in handy! Obviously, no one wants his personal files and data to get into the wrong hands, which is why factory reset is a MUST DO before selling any device!

Step-By-Step Guide

Now you should have a clear understanding of what factory reset is and when it should be applied. Now, let’s see how to conduct it:

  1. Log out from all accounts
  2. Plug in the power adapter
  3. Start up in recovery mode – restart a computer and then hold Cmd+R when it starts powering back on to launch the recovery partition
  4. When the system restarts, go to macOS Utilities > Disk Utility > Continue, then pick the disk and click Erase (in the setting you need to select the format called Journaled or Extended
  5. Quit Disk Utility
  6. Reinstall OS if needed

Final Words

As you now know, erasing your Mac isn’t a hard endeavor, and anyone can easily perform it. However, before you get started, it is vital to bear in mind some extra tips that will minimize the risks of losing your data:

  • Make sure that you have created a backup. Otherwise, you will not be able to restore your recent files after a reset.
  • Recall your password and iCloud details. Once you erase the system, you probably want to be able to continue using your Apple account with other devices, so it will be a good idea to make sure that you remember your log in details!
  • Be careful! Here is one more thing to keep in mind – once you erase the disk, there will be no way back, so be especially careful!

We hope that this post has answered some of the users’ most common questions. At OSxtips, we have even more guidelines and interesting facts about various Apple devices, so if you are a true fan of this manufacturer, be sure to check it out!

Rate this post

Add Comment

Read previous post:
frostwire
FrostWire: Best LimeWire alternative and best Torrent Client

FrostWire is one of the eldest and most trusted free & open-source BitTorrent clients in the market right now. It...

Outsourcers
Tips for Working with Outsourcers: How to Effectively Create New Products and Services?

What to do if a key employee leaves a company? When a person who has worked from the first days...

Close